Ranking

Which utilities lock a data center in the longest?

A long contract with a small minimum bill is not the same as a short contract with a big one. Lock-in years puts both on one scale: the number of years of full-capacity payments the stated term commits you to, whether or not you use the power.

How it is calculated. For each year of the contract term, add that year's minimum bill as a fraction of contract capacity. Twelve years at an 85% minimum bill is 12 × 0.85 = 10.2 lock-in years. A stated step-down is honored. Ramp-up periods, collateral and exit fees are not in the score; they are shown beside it. Only tariffs whose filings or orders state both a term and a minimum bill in numbers are ranked, and nothing is estimated. Pending tariffs are proposals.
#UtilityLock-in yearsTermMinimum billCollateralExit
1Kentucky Power Company, Tariff I.G.S. large load provisions
KY
18
20 yr90%24 months of minimum bills5 year(s) of minimum bills
2Duke Energy Florida, proposed Large Load Customer Policy (Florida PSC)pending
FL
16
20 yr80%Not stated3 year(s) of minimum bills
3El Paso Electric (New Mexico), proposed Rate 50 High Load Factor Power Service and Rate 51 Large Load Power Servicepending
NM
16
20 yr80%Not statedNot stated
4Florida Power & Light (LLCS-1 Large-Load Contract Service)
FL
14
20 yr70%Not statedNot stated
5Consumers Energy (Rate GPD large-load / data center provision)
MI
12
15 yr80%Not statedRemaining minimum bills
6Kentucky Utilities (Rate EHLF, Extremely High Load Factor Service)
KY
12
15 yr80%24 months of minimum billsRemaining minimum bills
7Louisville Gas & Electric (Kentucky), Rate EHLF Extremely High Load Factor Service
KY
12
15 yr80%24 months of minimum billsRemaining minimum bills
8Virginia Electric and Power Co. (Dominion Energy Virginia), GS-5 rate class
VA
11.9
14 yr85%Not statedNot stated
9Appalachian Power Company (Virginia), Schedule L.P.S. large load terms
VA
11.2
14 yr80%Not statedNot stated
10Colorado Springs Utilities (Colorado), Schedule ELL Industrial Service - Large Load
CO
10
10 yr100%36 months of minimum billsRemaining minimum bills
11Appalachian Power and Wheeling Power (West Virginia), Schedules LCP and IP large load terms
WV
9.6
12 yr80%Not statedNot stated
12Evergy Kansas Central / Evergy Kansas South (Schedule LLPS)
KS
9.6
12 yr80%Not statedNot stated
13Evergy Metro / Evergy Missouri West (Large Load Power Service, LLPS)
MO
9.6
12 yr80%24 months of minimum billsNot stated
14Indiana Michigan Power (AEP)
IN
9.6
12 yr80%Not statedNot stated
15Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri (Large Load Rate Plan)
MO
9.6
12 yr80%24 months of minimum billsNot stated
16Duke Energy Carolinas and Duke Energy Progress (North Carolina), proposed Large Load Tariff settlementpending
NC
7.5
10 yrlonger from 100 MW75%Not statedNot stated
17AEP Ohio
OH
6.8
8 yr85%Not stated3 year(s) of minimum bills
18PPL Electric Utilities (Pennsylvania), Rate Schedule LP-6 large load / data center
PA
6.5
10 yr80%
50% after year 5
Not statedRemaining minimum bills

Screening information from public filings, not legal or investment advice. A higher number is a bigger commitment, not a worse deal; it can come with faster power or a lower rate. The signed agreement controls. Next: is an offer typical?, estimate the dollars or the glossary.