Free tool

What will the power contract lock you into?

Large-load tariffs make a data center pay a minimum bill for years whether or not it uses the power, post collateral, and pay to leave early. Enter a size and the utility's demand charge to compare the filed terms side by side. Every number comes from a commission order or tariff we read; tariffs that do not publish numbers are listed separately, not guessed.

Enter the demand charge from the utility's rate schedule to see dollars; leave it blank to compare terms only. This counts the demand-charge minimum only. Energy charges, riders, taxes and any exit fee a tariff leaves to the contract are not included, so treat the totals as a floor for what you owe whether or not the load arrives.

El Paso Electric (New Mexico), proposed Rate 50 High Load Factor Power Service and Rate 51 Large Load Power Service

PendingNM · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
24 (20 + up to 4 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled.
PROPOSED, not approved.
This tariff is proposed or pending, so the terms can still change.

Kentucky Power Company, Tariff I.G.S. large load provisions

ApprovedKY · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
20
Minimum bill
90%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
5 year(s) of minimum bills. Notice to leave: 60 months.
Collateral is 24 times the customer's prior maximum monthly non-fuel bill; the exit payment is 5 years of minimum billing if the customer permanently closes early.

Consumers Energy (Rate GPD large-load / data center provision)

ApprovedMI · checked 2025-11-06
Years committed
20 (15 + up to 5 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
Remaining minimum bills for the 12 year(s) left in the term. Notice to leave: 48 months.
Exit fee is the minimum billing demand times the months left in the term, plus stranded asset costs.

Duke Energy Florida, proposed Large Load Customer Policy (Florida PSC)

PendingFL · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
20
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
3 year(s) of minimum bills. Notice to leave: 24 months.
PENDING. Minimum demand is 75% to 85% (80% used). Termination after service starts is three years of minimum bills plus the net book value of customer-funded facilities (not modeled).
This tariff is proposed or pending, so the terms can still change.

Florida Power & Light (LLCS-1 Large-Load Contract Service)

ApprovedFL · checked 2026-01-01
Years committed
20
Minimum bill
70%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled.
Minimum bill is at least 70% of the load-ramp demand.

Indiana Michigan Power (AEP)

ApprovedIN · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
17 (12 + up to 5 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled.
Capacity may be cut up to 20% during the term; larger cuts or termination trigger an exit fee (amount in the tariff, not modeled). Higher collateral required (amount not modeled).

Evergy Kansas Central / Evergy Kansas South (Schedule LLPS)

ApprovedKS · checked 2025-11-06
Years committed
17 (12 + up to 5 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled.

Evergy Metro / Evergy Missouri West (Large Load Power Service, LLPS)

ApprovedMO · checked 2026-03-09
Years committed
17 (12 + up to 5 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled.
Collateral discounts for qualifying guarantors are not modeled.

Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri (Large Load Rate Plan)

ApprovedMO · checked 2025-11-24
Years committed
17 (12 + up to 5 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled. Notice to leave: 24 months.
Exit requires 24 months' notice plus an exit fee (amount not modeled).

Appalachian Power and Wheeling Power (West Virginia), Schedules LCP and IP large load terms

ApprovedWV · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
17 (12 + up to 5 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled. Notice to leave: 42 months.
Exit fee applies to cuts beyond 20% or termination (amount not modeled).

Kentucky Utilities (Rate EHLF, Extremely High Load Factor Service)

ApprovedKY · checked 2026-10-17
Years committed
15
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
Remaining minimum bills for the 12 year(s) left in the term. Notice to leave: 60 months.
Billing demand is the greatest of current maximum load, the highest load in the prior 11 months, or 80% of contract capacity. Collateral drops to 12 months for a customer or guarantor rated A / A2 with cash of at least 10 times the requirement. Reducing capacity after year five needs 60 months' notice and a Capacity Reduction Fee. The load ramp is set in each agreement and is not stated.

PPL Electric Utilities (Pennsylvania), Rate Schedule LP-6 large load / data center

ApprovedPA · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
15 (10 + up to 5 ramp)
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
Drops to 50% after year 5. Remaining minimum bills for the 7 year(s) left in the term.
80% in years 1-5 and 50% in years 6-10; a voluntary interruptible option lowers these to 60% and 30%. Exit fee is the larger of remaining minimum-load or remaining rate-base security obligations.

Louisville Gas & Electric (Kentucky), Rate EHLF Extremely High Load Factor Service

ApprovedKY · checked 2026-10-17
Years committed
15
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
Remaining minimum bills for the 12 year(s) left in the term. Notice to leave: 60 months.
Billing demand is the greatest of current maximum load, the highest load in the prior 11 months, or 80% of contract capacity. Collateral drops to 12 months for a customer or guarantor rated A / A2 with cash of at least 10 times the requirement. Reducing capacity after year five needs 60 months' notice and a Capacity Reduction Fee. The load ramp is set in each agreement and is not stated.

Virginia Electric and Power Co. (Dominion Energy Virginia), GS-5 rate class

ApprovedVA · checked 2025-11-25
Years committed
14
Minimum bill
85%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
$150.0 million
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled.
Minimum demand is 85% for distribution and transmission but 60% for generation, so the blended minimum is lower than 85%. Collateral of $1.5 million per MW can be reduced up to 70% for strong credit.

Duke Energy Carolinas and Duke Energy Progress (North Carolina), proposed Large Load Tariff settlement

PendingNC · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
15
Minimum bill
75%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled. Notice to leave: 24 months.
PENDING. Terms are 5 or 10 years plus ramp. Notice to cut or leave is 24 months under 250 MW, 36 months from 250 MW and 48 months from 500 MW, with minimum bills still due during notice.
This tariff is proposed or pending, so the terms can still change.

Appalachian Power Company (Virginia), Schedule L.P.S. large load terms

ApprovedVA · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
14
Minimum bill
80%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
The tariff leaves the exit fee to the contract, or the amount was not stated in the filing. Not modeled. Notice to leave: 42 months.
Exit fee applies to cuts beyond 20% or termination (amount not modeled).

AEP Ohio

ApprovedOH · checked 2026-10-17
Years committed
12 (8 + up to 4 ramp)
Minimum bill
85%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
3 year(s) of minimum bills.
From two secondary summaries of the PUCO order (Vorys client alert, July 11, 2025; Power Magazine); the order was not read. One summary says the minimum is "up to" 85% depending on load.

Colorado Springs Utilities (Colorado), Schedule ELL Industrial Service - Large Load

ApprovedCO · checked 2026-10-14
Years committed
10
Minimum bill
100%
Minimum per year
needs a demand charge
Owed over the term
needs a demand charge
Collateral to post
not stated / needs rate
Exit exposure
not modeled
Drops to 68% after year 10. Remaining minimum bills for the 7 year(s) left in the term.
The customer owes 10 years of minimum bills regardless of usage. Collateral is 36 months of estimated minimum bills.

Not enough published numeric terms to model: Xcel Energy / Public Service Co. of Colorado; Southwestern Public Service (Xcel, SPP); DTE Electric (special contract, not a generic tariff); Entergy Louisiana (Schedule LLHLFPS-L, Large Load High Load Factor Power Service); We Energies (Very Large Customer tariff); Northern States Power Co. (Xcel Energy Minnesota), very large customer tariffs; Commonwealth Edison (ComEd), large demand project applicants (Rider DE); Cheyenne Light, Fuel and Power (Black Hills Energy Wyoming), Large Power Contract Service; Idaho Power (Schedule 20, Speculative High-Density Load); Portland General Electric (Schedule 96; large load agreements under Rule I); Pennsylvania PUC large-load model framework (guidance for EDC filings); Oncor / ERCOT TDUs; Tennessee Valley Authority (data center rate / Capacity Commitment Charge); Nebraska public power suppliers (OPPD, NPPD, LES, and other municipal/cooperative utilities) — Large Load Customer Regulation Act; NorthWestern Energy (Montana); Otter Tail Power Company (North Dakota); Delmarva Power & Light; Eversource / United Illuminating (Connecticut, under HB 5469); Santee Cooper (South Carolina, state-owned utility); Oklahoma Gas & Electric (OG&E); Public Service Company of Oklahoma (PSO); PSE&G (New Jersey); Jersey Central Power & Light (New Jersey); Atlantic City Electric (New Jersey); Baltimore Gas and Electric (Maryland); Pepco (Maryland); Potomac Edison (Maryland); Delmarva Power (Maryland); Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (Maryland); Salt River Project (SRP); Nevada Power Co. / Sierra Pacific Power Co. (NV Energy); Consolidated Edison (New York); National Grid / Niagara Mohawk (New York); NYSEG (New York); Rochester Gas and Electric (New York); Central Hudson (New York); Long Island Power Authority / PSEG Long Island (New York); Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E); Otter Tail Power (South Dakota); Interstate Power and Light (Alliant Energy Iowa), Rider ICR Individual Customer Rate.

An estimate for screening, not a quote. The utility's signed agreement controls. See which states and utilities we cover or compare utilities side by side, or check whether an offer is typical.