AEP Ohio

Large-load tariff for data centers: what is on file, the terms the filings state, and where each fact comes from. Terms a filing does not state are marked, never guessed.

StatusApproved  Last reviewed 2026-10-17
Applies at25 MW and above (study fee applies)
What the filing saysData center tariff approved by the PUCO in July 2025 (case 24-0508-EL-ATA). Requires an online application, proof of site control, and a load study fee. Clustered studies run on set cycles. TERMS, from Vorys's client alert of July 11, 2025 and Power Magazine on the PUCO order of July 9, 2025 (the order itself could not be read: the PUCO e-filing system blocks our fetcher): the tariff applies to new load above 25 MW; minimum monthly billing demand of up to 85% of contracted capacity; a load ramp of up to 4 years, then a minimum contract of 8 years (12 years in all); a customer may pay all minimum charges for the full term or an exit fee equal to three years of minimum charges, but the exit-fee option is not available until the end of the fifth year after the ramp; a customer that cancels or delays by more than 12 months reimburses 100% of construction costs; customers without A- (S&P) and A3 (Moody's) credit ratings face higher collateral unless they hold cash or equivalents above ten times the required collateral. The collateral amount was not stated in either summary. SEPARATELY, not a PUCO/AEP matter: Gov. DeWine directed the Ohio Tax Credit Authority chair (May 27, 2026) to pause consideration of new data-center sales/use tax exemption requests while the General Assembly's Joint Data Center Committee studies industry growth -- explicitly not a ban on data centers or on AEP's own interconnection process, and does not affect previously granted exemptions (data centers with existing Ohio tax benefits reported $27.2B in 2025 capital investment).

Stated terms

Contract term8 years after the ramp

6 more stated terms (contract term, minimum bill, collateral, exit fee, notice and time to power, as the filings state them) are shown to signed-in visitors. Create a free account to see them, or sign in.

Source

AEP Ohio correspondence; PUCO data center tariff order, July 2025; Vorys client alert (July 11, 2025) and Power Magazine coverage of the order; Gov. DeWine tax-exemption-pause announcement, May 27 2026 (news coverage: fox19.com, wsaz.com, spectrumnews1.com; Governor's office primary text not directly located during this research).

Get an email when this changes

Other utilities in Ohio

Screening information from public filings, not legal or investment advice. Tariffs change; confirm the current terms with the utility and the commission before relying on them.