Louisville Gas & Electric (Kentucky), Rate EHLF Extremely High Load Factor Service
Large-load tariff for data centers: what is on file, the terms the filings state, and where each fact comes from. Terms a filing does not state are marked, never guessed.
StatusApproved Last reviewed 2026-10-17
Applies atContract capacity of 50 MVA or more (new customers only); expected average monthly load factor above 85% as in the sister KU tariff
What the filing saysAPPROVED in LG&E's 2025 rate case (Kentucky PSC Case 2025-00114, order of February 16, 2026; the settlement raised the minimum contract capacity threshold to 50 MVA). Rate EHLF applies only to new customers, and a customer that splits a project into smaller facilities to stay under the threshold is still served under Rate EHLF. Term, ramp and capacity are set in the electric service agreement. LG&E and Kentucky Utilities use the same rate; see the Kentucky Utilities row. Read in full from LG&E's tariff (P.S.C. Electric No. 14, Rate EHLF sheets, effective February 16, 2026): contract capacity greater than 50 MVA and an expected average monthly load factor above 85%; the initial contract term is not less than 15 years; the monthly billing demand for the Maximum Load Charge is the greatest of the current month's maximum measured load, the highest load in the preceding 11 months, or 80% of the contract capacity; either party must give at least 60 months' written notice to discontinue service, and a customer that ends the contract before the initial term expires pays an Exit Fee equal to the nominal value of the remaining minimum non-fuel revenue over the remaining term; after the first five years, reducing contract capacity needs 60 months' notice and a Capacity Reduction Fee; collateral in cash or a letter of credit equals 24 months of the minimum billed amounts at the largest contract capacity (12 months for a customer or guarantor rated at least A by S&P and A2 by Moody's with cash and equivalents of at least 10 times the requirement). The load ramp and ramp period are set in each electric service agreement and are not stated in the tariff.
Stated terms
Contract term15 years
6 more stated terms (contract term, minimum bill, collateral, exit fee, notice and time to power, as the filings state them) are shown to signed-in visitors. Create a free account to see them, or sign in.
Source
LG&E tariff P.S.C. Electric No. 14, Rate EHLF (psc.ky.gov/tariffs/electric/Louisville Gas and Electric Company/Tariff.pdf, read in full 2026-10-17); Kentucky PSC order in Case 2025-00114, February 16, 2026 (settlement summary read).
Get an email when this changes
Other utilities in Kentucky
Screening information from public filings, not legal or investment advice. Tariffs change; confirm the current terms with the utility and the commission before relying on them.