Kentucky Utilities (Rate EHLF, Extremely High Load Factor Service)

Large-load tariff for data centers: what is on file, the terms the filings state, and where each fact comes from. Terms a filing does not state are marked, never guessed.

StatusApproved  Last reviewed 2026-10-17
Applies atContract capacity greater than 50 MVA, with an expected average monthly load factor above 85%
What the filing saysRate EHLF applies to new customers only. KU may aggregate accounts or facilities that together meet the threshold. Read in full from KU's tariff (P.S.C. No. 21, Original Sheets 26 to 26.3, effective February 16, 2026, Case 2025-00113): the initial contract term is not less than 15 years; the monthly billing demand for the Maximum Load Charge is the greatest of the current month's maximum measured load, the highest load in the preceding 11 months, or 80% of the contract capacity; monthly billing begins 30 days after the stated start date whether or not power is flowing; either party must give at least 60 months' written notice to discontinue service, and a customer that ends the contract before the initial term expires pays an Exit Fee equal to the nominal value of the remaining minimum non-fuel revenue over the remaining term; after the first five years, reducing contract capacity needs 60 months' notice and a Capacity Reduction Fee calculated the same way; collateral in cash or a letter of credit equals 24 months of the minimum billed amounts at the largest contract capacity (12 months for a customer or guarantor rated at least A by S&P and A2 by Moody's with cash and equivalents of at least 10 times the requirement), due at signing and increased within three business days if creditworthiness worsens. The load ramp and ramp period are set in each electric service agreement and are not stated in the tariff. SEPARATELY, not a KU/PSC-tariff matter: Gov. Beshear's executive order (Aug 6, 2026) requires data-center developers to submit an energy plan to the Energy and Environment Cabinet showing how ratepayers and existing businesses will be protected from rate increases, and directs the PSC to prevent utilities from recovering data-center-driven costs from other ratepayers. Explicitly not a statewide moratorium -- some critics wanted one instead; at least one developer (Panattoni, the Burgin proposal) publicly supported the order.

Stated terms

Contract term15 years

6 more stated terms (contract term, minimum bill, collateral, exit fee, notice and time to power, as the filings state them) are shown to signed-in visitors. Create a free account to see them, or sign in.

Source

Kentucky Utilities tariff book, Rate EHLF (psc.ky.gov/tariffs/Electric/Kentucky%20Utilities%20Company/Tariff.pdf); Gov. Beshear executive order, signed Aug 6 2026 (news coverage: fox19.com, wuky.org, wdrb.com; Governor's office primary text not directly located during this research).

Get an email when this changes

Other utilities in Kentucky

Screening information from public filings, not legal or investment advice. Tariffs change; confirm the current terms with the utility and the commission before relying on them.