Virginia (VA) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Virginia — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Virginia Electric and Power Co. (Dominion Energy Virginia), GS-5 rate class
Threshold25 MW or greater on a contiguous site, and load factor of at least 75%
StatusGS-5 rate class approved in Case PUR-2025-00058 (final order Nov 25, 2025): large loads are rated separately. Minimum demand charges of 85% of contracted demand for distribution and transmission, and 60% for generation. Contract term of 14 years for customers signing an ESA on or after Jan 1, 2027, with a load ramp period of up to 4 years. Collateral of $1.5 million per MW, reducible by up to 70% based on the customer's credit; third-party guarantees and letters of credit are allowed. Cash collateral earns interest.
Contract term14 years (includes the ramp)
RampUp to 4 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)85% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
Collateral$1.5 million per MW
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
Sourcehttps://www.scc.virginia.gov/docketsearch/DOCS/89g601!.PDF (final order, Case PUR-2025-00058)
Tennessee Valley Authority (data center rate / Capacity Commitment Charge)
ThresholdNew or expanding loads above 5 MW
StatusNew standard data center rate effective Oct 1, 2026, approved at the Aug 20, 2026 TVA Board meeting. A Capacity Commitment Charge (CCC) applies to new or expanding loads above 5 MW as part of each data center B, C, and D rate schedule, to recover incremental capacity costs. All-in average billing impact to data center customers is expected to be about 10%, phased in over three consecutive fiscal years. A Power Interruption Provision sets terms for a data center that wants to come online before its generation capacity is available. In-flight data centers must meet specific criteria to qualify for transitional provisions (criteria not detailed in this deck). Separately, the Board updated its policy for new power requirements above 100 MW. The CCC's exact dollar amount or formula was not found in this deck.
SourceTVA Board presentation, Aug 20, 2026 meeting (read directly): https://tva-azr-eastus-cdn-ep-tvawcm-prd.azureedge.net/cdn-tvawcma/docs/default-source/about-tva/board-of-directors/august-20--2026/august-2026-board-presentation.pdf
Appalachian Power Company (Virginia), Schedule L.P.S. large load terms
Threshold100 MW or more at an individual site, or 150 MW or more aggregated (new load or expansion after July 1, 2025)
StatusVirginia SCC Final Order, Case PUR-2025-00057 (June 1, 2026), approved the large-load terms in Schedule L.P.S. as agreed in a partial stipulation (APCo, Google, Walmart and a customer group), with changes. No separate rate class. Initial contract term 14 years, including a load ramp of up to 4 years. Monthly billing demand of at least 80% of contract capacity. After 5 years a customer can cut contract capacity by up to 20% with no exit fee on 42 months' notice; a larger cut or termination is allowed after 5 years on 42 months' notice and carries an exit fee. The exit fee is reduced only when another customer takes over the same transmission and distribution facilities or APCo can show the generation capacity was reassigned or sold. Collateral rules are in the stipulation attachment (not read); cash collateral earns interest. APCo must report large-load customers, contracts and capital spending in future biennial reviews. APCo must file revised tariff sheets; the sheets were not read.
Contract term14 years (includes the ramp)
RampUp to 4 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or end42 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceVirginia SCC Final Order, Case No. PUR-2025-00057, June 1, 2026 (scc.virginia.gov, read in full). Stipulation Attachment 1 and compliance tariff sheets not read.
Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative (Virginia), Schedule LPS-U large power service
ThresholdAnnual demand averaging 5,000 kW or more a month, and an actual and projected annual average of 25 MW or more (large load consumer, per the cooperative's terms and conditions)
StatusVirginia SCC Final Order, Case PUR-2025-00160: Schedule LPS-U approved, effective with the order (dated about Sept 10, 2026, inferred from the document control number), together with a change to Schedule LGS-U and to the cooperative's terms and conditions. The security deposit for large load consumers is set by the cooperative in its sole discretion, in a form it accepts (surety bond, letter of credit, parent guarantee or cash), and can be recalculated at least yearly, as the SCC also approved for Rappahannock Electric Cooperative (Case PUR-2025-00048, March 20, 2026). Rates are tied to PJM wholesale costs because the cooperative buys power under a wholesale contract. Contract term and minimum-bill terms were not read in the schedule itself. Other Virginia co-ops (Rappahannock, NOVEC, Shenandoah Valley) have similar large-power filings listed by DELTa; not yet read.
Contract termNot stated in the filings we read
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralSecurity deposit set by the cooperative in its sole discretion, as a surety bond, letter of credit, parent guarantee or cash, recalculated at least yearly (Virginia SCC order, Case PUR-2025-00160)
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceVirginia SCC Final Order, Case No. PUR-2025-00160 (scc.virginia.gov, read in full); the LPS-U tariff sheet was not read.
Rappahannock Electric Cooperative (Virginia), Schedule LP-DF Large Power and Dedicated Facilities
ThresholdContracted billing demand above 25 MW, served at 34.5 kV or higher from dedicated substation facilities, at an annual average load factor of at least 75%
StatusIN EFFECT April 15, 2026 (accepted for filing by the Virginia SCC on April 13, 2026). The customer signs an electric service agreement that recovers the cooperative's investment and costs and includes credit collateral support set by the cooperative. The term is negotiable but must be structured to recover the full cost of distribution and sub-transmission plant. The charge per MVA of dedicated substation falls as more customers share it. Not available for standby, self-generation, net metering or resale. Collateral amounts and the term length are in the agreement, not the schedule.
Contract termNegotiable but structured to recover the full cost of distribution and sub-transmission plant; the length is in the agreement, not the schedule
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralCredit collateral support set by the cooperative; amounts are in the agreement, not the schedule
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceRappahannock Electric Cooperative Schedule LP-DF, effective 4/15/2026 (myrec.coop, read).
Northern Virginia Electric Cooperative (NOVEC), Schedule HV-1 Large Power Dedicated Distribution Service
ThresholdNew or additional separately metered load of at least 5,000 kW (5 MW), with an average annual load factor of at least 70%, served at 115 kV or higher
StatusIN EFFECT (Schedule HV-1 effective April 1, 2023; the SCC docket lists changes to HV-1 and a larger HV-2 dedicated facilities schedule as pending, and those changes were not read). The customer signs an electric service agreement at least 12 months before service. The term is negotiable but structured to recover the full cost of distribution and sub-transmission plant; the customer contributes in aid of construction for primary distribution facilities and may buy power from NOVEC (standard or market option) or from a third-party provider. Not available for backup or standby service.
Contract termNegotiable but structured to recover the full cost of distribution and sub-transmission plant; the length is in the agreement, not the schedule
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceNOVEC Schedule HV-1, effective 4/1/2023 (novec.com, read).
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
Virginia — statewide SCC oversight and cost-reallocation framework (HB 155 / SB 253, 2026)
Contact guidanceDominion Energy Virginia has its own detailed entry (GS-5 rate class) if it serves the site -- this entry covers the real statewide legal framework that applies regardless of which specific Virginia utility serves a site.
ThresholdHB 155's additional State Corporation Commission (SCC) review applies to high-load users over 25 MW -- a broader net than just data centers, also catching large manufacturers.
ProcessHB 155 requires the SCC to review whether a proposed high-load project (over 25 MW) has sufficient renewable energy/storage contracts or demand-response measures in place, and to confirm there's enough grid and transmission capacity to actually support it before it proceeds. Its companion, SB 253, reallocates cost burden starting January 2027: affected large-load customers must pay for at least 85% of their contracted distribution/transmission demand and 60% of generation demand -- reported as roughly a 15.8% rate increase for data centers paired with a 3.4% decrease for residential customers. Separately, the data-center sales-tax exemption's sunset date was under active negotiation during the 2026 session (Senate proposed accelerating it from 2035 to Jan 1, 2027; House countered with keeping 2035 but attaching new clean-energy conditions) -- confirm the resolved outcome directly, it was not settled as of this research. The Governor has also issued separate transparency, environmental, and cost-allocation rules via executive action.
Deposit / costSB 253's 85%-of-contracted-demand and 60%-of-generation-demand minimums are explicit in the bill itself, not left to utility discretion.
SourceVirginia Mercury (virginiamercury.com) coverage of the bills' General Assembly progress; Broadband Breakfast (broadbandbreakfast.com) on the Governor's executive action; Henrico Citizen (henricocitizen.com) on what ultimately passed. Primary bill text not independently re-read in final signed form during this research -- confirm current status, especially the tax-exemption sunset date, directly.
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Virginia included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
Related reporting
← Back to full coverage
Evaluating a specific parcel in Virginia?
Start a Qualification Review