Kentucky (KY) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Kentucky — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Approved Checked 2026-10-17
ThresholdContract capacity greater than 50 MVA, with an expected average monthly load factor above 85%
StatusRate EHLF applies to new customers only. KU may aggregate accounts or facilities that together meet the threshold. Read in full from KU's tariff (P.S.C. No. 21, Original Sheets 26 to 26.3, effective February 16, 2026, Case 2025-00113): the initial contract term is not less than 15 years; the monthly billing demand for the Maximum Load Charge is the greatest of the current month's maximum measured load, the highest load in the preceding 11 months, or 80% of the contract capacity; monthly billing begins 30 days after the stated start date whether or not power is flowing; either party must give at least 60 months' written notice to discontinue service, and a customer that ends the contract before the initial term expires pays an Exit Fee equal to the nominal value of the remaining minimum non-fuel revenue over the remaining term; after the first five years, reducing contract capacity needs 60 months' notice and a Capacity Reduction Fee calculated the same way; collateral in cash or a letter of credit equals 24 months of the minimum billed amounts at the largest contract capacity (12 months for a customer or guarantor rated at least A by S&P and A2 by Moody's with cash and equivalents of at least 10 times the requirement), due at signing and increased within three business days if creditworthiness worsens. The load ramp and ramp period are set in each electric service agreement and are not stated in the tariff. SEPARATELY, not a KU/PSC-tariff matter: Gov. Beshear's executive order (Aug 6, 2026) requires data-center developers to submit an energy plan to the Energy and Environment Cabinet showing how ratepayers and existing businesses will be protected from rate increases, and directs the PSC to prevent utilities from recovering data-center-driven costs from other ratepayers. Explicitly not a statewide moratorium -- some critics wanted one instead; at least one developer (Panattoni, the Burgin proposal) publicly supported the order.
Contract term15 years
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
Collateral24 months of minimum bills
Exit feeRemaining minimum bills for the rest of the term
Notice to reduce or end60 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceKentucky Utilities tariff book, Rate EHLF (psc.ky.gov/tariffs/Electric/Kentucky%20Utilities%20Company/Tariff.pdf); Gov. Beshear executive order, signed Aug 6 2026 (news coverage: fox19.com, wuky.org, wdrb.com; Governor's office primary text not directly located during this research).
Approved Checked 2026-08-20
ThresholdNew or expanding loads above 5 MW
StatusNew standard data center rate effective Oct 1, 2026, approved at the Aug 20, 2026 TVA Board meeting. A Capacity Commitment Charge (CCC) applies to new or expanding loads above 5 MW as part of each data center B, C, and D rate schedule, to recover incremental capacity costs. All-in average billing impact to data center customers is expected to be about 10%, phased in over three consecutive fiscal years. A Power Interruption Provision sets terms for a data center that wants to come online before its generation capacity is available. In-flight data centers must meet specific criteria to qualify for transitional provisions (criteria not detailed in this deck). Separately, the Board updated its policy for new power requirements above 100 MW. The CCC's exact dollar amount or formula was not found in this deck.
SourceTVA Board presentation, Aug 20, 2026 meeting (read directly): https://tva-azr-eastus-cdn-ep-tvawcm-prd.azureedge.net/cdn-tvawcma/docs/default-source/about-tva/board-of-directors/august-20--2026/august-2026-board-presentation.pdf
Approved Checked 2026-10-14
Threshold150 MW or more of new load, or of incremental load added by an existing customer, on or after the order date
StatusAPPROVED. Kentucky PSC Order in Case 2024-00305 (the EEI list dates the approval March 2025) approved Kentucky Power's revisions to Tariff I.G.S. as modified: they apply only to customers adding 150 MW or more of incremental load. Provisions as filed and approved: 20-year contract term with 5 years' notice to terminate; minimum monthly billing demand of at least 90% of the customer's highest established demand; collateral of 24 times the customer's previous maximum monthly non-fuel bill (subject to review and adjustment); a one-time payment equal to 5 years of minimum billing if the customer permanently closes before the term ends; 5 years' notice to reduce contract capacity, with exceptions by mutual agreement. The compliance tariff sheets were not read.
Contract term20 years
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)90% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
Collateral24 months of minimum bills
Exit fee5 years of minimum bills
Notice to reduce or end60 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceKentucky PSC Order, Case No. 2024-00305 (psc.ky.gov, read in full; the order date was not captured).
Approved Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdData center with an expected or actual peak of 15,000 kW (15 MW) or more and a monthly load factor of 60% or more; loads over 250 MW must be served with dedicated resources
StatusAPPROVED as modified (Kentucky PSC Order, Case 2025-00140, issued after Oct 20, 2025). Rate DCP sets the rules under which EKPC and its member cooperatives serve data centers. Each data center signs a special contract with EKPC and the member cooperative that the PSC must approve; the contract sets term, contract capacity and load ramp, rates, any minimum billing demand, curtailment, default and termination terms. EKPC and the member must settle a power supply plan first (dedicated resources, bilateral purchases, or both) and will not start service until the resource mix is secured. Service runs through PJM markets. All costs of serving the data center are allocated to it. Loads over 250 MW require dedicated resources and the Dedicated Resource Rider. Specific percentages and years are in each contract, not the tariff.
SourceKentucky PSC Order, Case No. 2025-00140 (psc.ky.gov, read in part: description of the tariff and the ordering paragraphs).
Approved Checked 2026-10-17
ThresholdContract capacity of 50 MVA or more (new customers only); expected average monthly load factor above 85% as in the sister KU tariff
StatusAPPROVED in LG&E's 2025 rate case (Kentucky PSC Case 2025-00114, order of February 16, 2026; the settlement raised the minimum contract capacity threshold to 50 MVA). Rate EHLF applies only to new customers, and a customer that splits a project into smaller facilities to stay under the threshold is still served under Rate EHLF. Term, ramp and capacity are set in the electric service agreement. LG&E and Kentucky Utilities use the same rate; see the Kentucky Utilities row. Read in full from LG&E's tariff (P.S.C. Electric No. 14, Rate EHLF sheets, effective February 16, 2026): contract capacity greater than 50 MVA and an expected average monthly load factor above 85%; the initial contract term is not less than 15 years; the monthly billing demand for the Maximum Load Charge is the greatest of the current month's maximum measured load, the highest load in the preceding 11 months, or 80% of the contract capacity; either party must give at least 60 months' written notice to discontinue service, and a customer that ends the contract before the initial term expires pays an Exit Fee equal to the nominal value of the remaining minimum non-fuel revenue over the remaining term; after the first five years, reducing contract capacity needs 60 months' notice and a Capacity Reduction Fee; collateral in cash or a letter of credit equals 24 months of the minimum billed amounts at the largest contract capacity (12 months for a customer or guarantor rated at least A by S&P and A2 by Moody's with cash and equivalents of at least 10 times the requirement). The load ramp and ramp period are set in each electric service agreement and are not stated in the tariff.
Contract term15 years
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
Collateral24 months of minimum bills
Exit feeRemaining minimum bills for the rest of the term
Notice to reduce or end60 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceLG&E tariff P.S.C. Electric No. 14, Rate EHLF (psc.ky.gov/tariffs/electric/Louisville Gas and Electric Company/Tariff.pdf, read in full 2026-10-17); Kentucky PSC order in Case 2025-00114, February 16, 2026 (settlement summary read).
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
Utility-specific — no statewide guidance resolves without naming a utility, but real tariff research exists above for Kentucky Utilities (Rate EHLF, Extremely High Load Factor Service) and Tennessee Valley Authority (data center rate / Capacity Commitment Charge) and Kentucky Power Company, Tariff I.G.S. large load provisions and East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Rate DCP Data Center Power and Louisville Gas & Electric (Kentucky), Rate EHLF Extremely High Load Factor Service. Interconnection process for a specific utility can be confirmed directly once that utility is identified for your site.
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Kentucky included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
Related reporting
Meta's $15 Billion Kentucky Data Center Comes With $115 Million for Water Infrastructure the County Already Needed. Twenty-Eight Mobile-Home Households Have 90 Days to Find Somewhere Else to Live.
Kentucky Power Wants to Build a New Gas Plant for a Data Center That's Still Just a Filing. It's Already Promising $100 Million Back to Everyone Else's Heating Bill.