Coverage / Indiana

Indiana (IN) data center power coverage

Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Indiana — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.

Large-load tariffs

Indiana Michigan Power (AEP)

Approved Checked 2026-10-14
Threshold70 MW single facility, or 150 MW aggregated
StatusAPPROVED by the IURC (Cause 46097, settlement order February 19, 2025). Large Load Terms in Tariff I.P. apply to new load or expansions on or after January 1, 2024 at 70 MW or more at one site, or 150 MW aggregated (I&M has discretion over aggregation). Initial contract term of at least 12 years, starting after a load ramp period of up to 5 years. Minimum monthly billing demand of 80% of contract capacity or of the highest prior demand. Customers may reduce contract capacity by up to 20% during the term; larger reductions or termination trigger an exit fee. Higher collateral is required. A further proposal, Tariff IP-LL (Cause 46454), is pending. Below the threshold, standard Tariff I.P. applies.
Contract term12 years after the ramp
RampUp to 5 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceIURC order in Cause 46097, February 19, 2025 (order text read in full).

NIPSCO GenCo (Indiana), megaload service through a separate generation company

Approved Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdA 'megaload' customer is 50 MW or more under the approved settlement (a consumer group argued for 100 MW)
StatusSTRUCTURE APPROVED by the IURC in Cause 46183 (order of September 24, 2025): a limited declination of jurisdiction lets NIPSCO GenCo, a ring-fenced affiliate, build and own generation that NIPSCO then contracts for to serve megaload customers, so the cost does not fall on NIPSCO's other customers. The order does not set contract terms; power purchase agreements and special contracts with megaload customers are reviewed case by case. NIPSCO says contracts use minimum terms, minimum load factors and exit fees. No published megaload term sheet was found.
SourceIURC order in Cause 46183, September 24, 2025 (in.gov/iurc, read in part).

Interconnection & regulatory guidance

Indiana (non-AEP utility) — MISO

Contact guidanceContact the serving utility directly (e.g. NIPSCO, Duke Energy Indiana, AES Indiana) -- most Indiana utilities other than Indiana Michigan Power are MISO members, not PJM.
ThresholdMISO's own large-load framework (addressing timely notification, coordinated load-addition studies, and a proposed "Firm Service Step-Up" allowing partial firm service before all upgrades complete) is still evolving under FERC review as of 2026 -- confirm current thresholds and process directly with the specific utility rather than assuming I&M's 70MW/150MW figures apply, since that rule is I&M-specific, not MISO-wide.
ProcessStart with a direct inquiry to the serving utility's large-load or key-accounts team.
SourceFERC order directing MISO (among six RTOs/ISOs) to justify/reform large-load tariff rules, June 2026

Land-constraint screening

Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Indiana included — no state-by-state gaps here.

FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land

Related reporting

Indiana's New Data-Center Cost Law Just Passed Its First Test. The State's Largest Utility Still Gets to Bill Everyone Else for $74 Million of It.

NiSource Promises Microsoft's Data Center Won't Raise Anyone's Bill. LaPorte County Already Decided Not to Take That on Faith.

← Back to full coverage

Evaluating a specific parcel in Indiana?

Start a Qualification Review