Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)

Large-load tariff for data centers: what is on file, the terms the filings state, and where each fact comes from. Terms a filing does not state are marked, never guessed.

StatusPending  Last reviewed 2026-10-12
Applies atNo explicit MW threshold found -- Rule 30 targets transmission-level (not distribution-level) interconnection, which in practice means large loads
What the filing saysElectric Rule 30 (Application A.24-11-007, filed Nov 21, 2024): a uniform tariff for transmission-level interconnection of large loads, including data centers. The CPUC approved an INTERIM implementation on July 24, 2025 -- applicants must pay 100% of required transmission-infrastructure costs up front as a prefunded loan; refund/cost-allocation terms are decided case by case until a final decision issues. Real precedent from one case: in the STACK Infrastructure matter (Resolution E-5420, Oct 2025), the CPUC limited the annual refund to 75% of transmission revenues PG&E actually collects from that customer (vs. near-full refund in year one under the standard tariff approach), stretching STACK's full refund out to roughly 6 years to reduce ratepayer risk. A final CPUC decision on Rule 30 itself (and its general refund terms) had not been confirmed issued as of this research.

Stated terms

Contract termNot stated in the filings we read

6 more stated terms (contract term, minimum bill, collateral, exit fee, notice and time to power, as the filings state them) are shown to signed-in visitors. Create a free account to see them, or sign in.

Source

PG&E Application A.24-11-007; CPUC interim decision, July 24, 2025; CPUC Resolution E-5420 (STACK Infrastructure), Oct 2025; Downey Brand legal alert summarizing both.

Get an email when this changes

Other utilities in California

Screening information from public filings, not legal or investment advice. Tariffs change; confirm the current terms with the utility and the commission before relying on them.