California (CA) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for California — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
ThresholdNo explicit MW threshold found -- Rule 30 targets transmission-level (not distribution-level) interconnection, which in practice means large loads
StatusElectric Rule 30 (Application A.24-11-007, filed Nov 21, 2024): a uniform tariff for transmission-level interconnection of large loads, including data centers. The CPUC approved an INTERIM implementation on July 24, 2025 -- applicants must pay 100% of required transmission-infrastructure costs up front as a prefunded loan; refund/cost-allocation terms are decided case by case until a final decision issues. Real precedent from one case: in the STACK Infrastructure matter (Resolution E-5420, Oct 2025), the CPUC limited the annual refund to 75% of transmission revenues PG&E actually collects from that customer (vs. near-full refund in year one under the standard tariff approach), stretching STACK's full refund out to roughly 6 years to reduce ratepayer risk. A final CPUC decision on Rule 30 itself (and its general refund terms) had not been confirmed issued as of this research.
Contract termNot stated in the filings we read
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralApplicants pay 100% of required transmission infrastructure costs up front as a prefunded loan (interim implementation, July 2025)
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourcePG&E Application A.24-11-007; CPUC interim decision, July 24, 2025; CPUC Resolution E-5420 (STACK Infrastructure), Oct 2025; Downey Brand legal alert summarizing both.
Imperial Irrigation District (California), Schedule LL Large Load
ThresholdExpected monthly demand of 20 MW or more and an expected load factor above 80%
StatusAPPROVED by the IID Board on September 15, 2026 (a public power utility, not regulated by the California PUC). New or expanded loads that meet the threshold must take service under Schedule LL and go through a studied queue; applying does not reserve capacity or a queue position. Initial contract term of at least 15 years (set in the Electric Service Agreement), then continuing until ended; either party must give at least 60 months' written notice to end or change service. Exit fee equals the remaining Minimum Charge for any terminated or reduced capacity for the rest of the initial term. Service deposit of at least 3 months of demand and minimum charges, normally in cash, in addition to other collateral required by the agreement. The customer funds the studies. Contact: largeload@iid.com. The rest of the tariff was read only for the terms listed.
Contract termInitial contract term of at least 15 years, set in the Electric Service Agreement, then continuing until ended
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralService deposit of at least 3 months of demand and minimum charges, normally in cash, plus other collateral the agreement requires
Exit feeRemaining Minimum Charge for any terminated or reduced capacity for the rest of the initial term
Notice to reduce or endAt least 60 months' written notice to end or change service
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceIID Schedule LL tariff PDF and Large Load Customers page (iid.com, read).
Sacramento Municipal Utility District (California), large-load policy
Threshold50 MW or higher defined as large load (staff presentation)
StatusLOWER CONFIDENCE, PENDING. SMUD's June 17, 2026 board presentation defines a large load as 50 MW or more and lists the rate schedules for large loads as to be determined. No adopted tariff was found.
SourceSMUD board meeting presentation, June 17, 2026 (smud.org).
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
California — statewide 7-bill data center package
Contact guidanceNo dedicated California utility large-load tariff is on file here yet (PG&E, SCE, SDG&E all differ) -- contact the serving utility directly for interconnection process (PG&E's Rule 30 interim interconnection-acceleration rule is a separate, utility-specific process not covered by this entry). Separately, as of 2026-10-08, Gov. Newsom signed a 7-bill statewide package (Sept 21, 2026) reshaping data-center cost allocation, disclosure, and environmental review statewide.
ThresholdNo single statewide MW threshold -- each bill sets its own scope; specific numeric thresholds were not confirmed from primary bill text during this research (see caveat below).
ProcessSeven bills signed together, Sept 21, 2026: (1) Cost allocation -- SB 1168, SB 886, and AB 2383 each redirect electric infrastructure costs from residential ratepayers to data-center operators; AB 2383/SB 886 specifically direct the CPUC to establish separate tariffs for large-load data centers (a future CPUC tariff proceeding, not yet an adopted rate -- track this the same way Texas's PUCT Project 58481 is tracked as proposed-not-adopted). (2) Resource disclosure -- AB 2469, AB 1577, and AB 2619 each require water-usage and other resource disclosures or estimates before/during local approval. (3) Environmental review -- SB 887 removes a blanket environmental review exemption for data centers, but offers expedited approval for facilities that meet state water- and energy-conservation standards. This marks a reversal from Newsom's 2025 posture (he vetoed a water-disclosure bill and signed only one narrow environmental-study bill that year).
SourceNews/policy coverage of the Sept 21, 2026 signing (calmatters.org, thestar.com.my, aiweekly.co, constructiondive.com, kqed.org) -- cross-checked across multiple independent sources for the bill list, but primary bill text (leginfo.legislature.ca.gov) was not directly read during this research; confirm exact statutory thresholds/dates there before quoting specifics.
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, California included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
Related reporting
← Back to full coverage
Evaluating a specific parcel in California?
Start a Qualification Review