Coverage / Ohio

Ohio (OH) data center power coverage

Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Ohio — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.

Large-load tariffs

AEP Ohio

Approved Checked 2026-10-17
Threshold25 MW and above (study fee applies)
StatusData center tariff approved by the PUCO in July 2025 (case 24-0508-EL-ATA). Requires an online application, proof of site control, and a load study fee. Clustered studies run on set cycles. TERMS, from Vorys's client alert of July 11, 2025 and Power Magazine on the PUCO order of July 9, 2025 (the order itself could not be read: the PUCO e-filing system blocks our fetcher): the tariff applies to new load above 25 MW; minimum monthly billing demand of up to 85% of contracted capacity; a load ramp of up to 4 years, then a minimum contract of 8 years (12 years in all); a customer may pay all minimum charges for the full term or an exit fee equal to three years of minimum charges, but the exit-fee option is not available until the end of the fifth year after the ramp; a customer that cancels or delays by more than 12 months reimburses 100% of construction costs; customers without A- (S&P) and A3 (Moody's) credit ratings face higher collateral unless they hold cash or equivalents above ten times the required collateral. The collateral amount was not stated in either summary. SEPARATELY, not a PUCO/AEP matter: Gov. DeWine directed the Ohio Tax Credit Authority chair (May 27, 2026) to pause consideration of new data-center sales/use tax exemption requests while the General Assembly's Joint Data Center Committee studies industry growth -- explicitly not a ban on data centers or on AEP's own interconnection process, and does not affect previously granted exemptions (data centers with existing Ohio tax benefits reported $27.2B in 2025 capital investment).
Contract term8 years after the ramp
RampUp to 4 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)85% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralHigher collateral for customers without A- (S&P) and A3 (Moody's) credit ratings, unless they hold cash or equivalents above ten times the required collateral; the amount is not stated in the summaries we read.
Exit feePay all minimum charges for the full term, or an exit fee equal to three years of minimum charges (the exit-fee option is not available until the end of the fifth year after the ramp). Cancelling or delaying more than 12 months means reimbursing 100% of construction costs.
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceAEP Ohio correspondence; PUCO data center tariff order, July 2025; Vorys client alert (July 11, 2025) and Power Magazine coverage of the order; Gov. DeWine tax-exemption-pause announcement, May 27 2026 (news coverage: fox19.com, wsaz.com, spectrumnews1.com; Governor's office primary text not directly located during this research).

FirstEnergy Ohio (Ohio Edison, Cleveland Electric Illuminating, Toledo Edison), proposed Data Center Tariff

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdNot confirmed (the proposed threshold was not read)
StatusPENDING, NOT APPROVED. PUCO Case 26-0697-EL-ATA: the three FirstEnergy utilities jointly filed a Data Center Tariff (Schedule DCT) in June 2026 (EEI). The docket shows comments and reply comments filed Aug 25, 2026 by Google, Amazon, the Ohio Consumers' Counsel and manufacturers' groups. Terms were not read; expect them to be compared with AEP Ohio's tariff (25 MW, 85% minimum, up to 12 years).
SourcePUCO docket index for 26-0697-EL-ATA (read Oct 2026); EEI list, Sept 2026.

Duke Energy Ohio, proposed Data Center Service (Rate DC)

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdNot confirmed (the proposed threshold was not read)
StatusPENDING, NOT APPROVED. PUCO Case 26-0755-EL-ATA: Duke Energy Ohio applied for a new service and tariffs for data center load on July 27, 2026. An Administrative Law Judge entry of Sept 18, 2026 set comments for Oct 22, 2026 and reply comments for Nov 12, 2026. Terms were not read.
SourcePUCO docket index for 26-0755-EL-ATA (read Oct 2026).

AES Ohio (Dayton Power and Light), proposed Data Center Tariff (Schedule D23) in rate case settlement

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdNot confirmed (a settlement was filed; its terms were not read)
StatusPENDING, NOT APPROVED. PUCO Case 25-0958-EL-AIR (AES Ohio base rate case): AES Ohio filed a Stipulation and Recommendation under which it would adopt a Data Center Tariff (EEI; DELTa names it Schedule D23). The settlement's tariff terms were not read.
SourcePUCO docket index for the AES Ohio rate case; EEI list, Sept 2026.

Interconnection & regulatory guidance

Utility-specific — no statewide guidance resolves without naming a utility, but real tariff research exists above for AEP Ohio and FirstEnergy Ohio (Ohio Edison, Cleveland Electric Illuminating, Toledo Edison), proposed Data Center Tariff and Duke Energy Ohio, proposed Data Center Service (Rate DC) and AES Ohio (Dayton Power and Light), proposed Data Center Tariff (Schedule D23) in rate case settlement. Interconnection process for a specific utility can be confirmed directly once that utility is identified for your site.

Land-constraint screening

Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Ohio included — no state-by-state gaps here.

FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage

Evaluating a specific parcel in Ohio?

Start a Qualification Review