Free tool

Compare large-load tariffs side by side

Pick up to three utilities. See status, the contract term, the minimum bill, collateral and exit fee each filing states, with the source. Add a size and a demand charge to see what the minimum costs in dollars.

Comparison

AEP Ohio
StatusApproved
Applies at25 MW and above (study fee applies)
Last reviewed2026-10-17
Contract term8 years after the ramp
RampUp to 4 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)85% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralHigher collateral for customers without A- (S&P) and A3 (Moody's) credit ratings, unless they hold cash or equivalents above ten times the required collateral; the amount is not stated in the summaries we read.
Exit feePay all minimum charges for the full term, or an exit fee equal to three years of minimum charges (the exit-fee option is not available until the end of the fifth year after the ramp). Cancelling or delaying more than 12 months means reimbursing 100% of construction costs.
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceAEP Ohio correspondence; PUCO data center tariff order, July 2025; Vorys client alert (July 11, 2025) and Power Magazine coverage of the order; Gov. DeWine tax-exemption-pause announcement, May 27 2026 (news coverage: fox19.com, wsaz.com, spectrumnews1.com; Governor's office primary text not directly located during this research).

Shaded rows differ between the utilities. Faded values are not stated in the filings we read.

Screening information from public filings, not legal or investment advice. The utility's signed agreement controls. See all coverage · Commitment estimator · Check a site