Coverage / North Carolina

North Carolina (NC) data center power coverage

Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for North Carolina — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.

Large-load tariffs

Tennessee Valley Authority (data center rate / Capacity Commitment Charge)

Approved Checked 2026-08-20
ThresholdNew or expanding loads above 5 MW
StatusNew standard data center rate effective Oct 1, 2026, approved at the Aug 20, 2026 TVA Board meeting. A Capacity Commitment Charge (CCC) applies to new or expanding loads above 5 MW as part of each data center B, C, and D rate schedule, to recover incremental capacity costs. All-in average billing impact to data center customers is expected to be about 10%, phased in over three consecutive fiscal years. A Power Interruption Provision sets terms for a data center that wants to come online before its generation capacity is available. In-flight data centers must meet specific criteria to qualify for transitional provisions (criteria not detailed in this deck). Separately, the Board updated its policy for new power requirements above 100 MW. The CCC's exact dollar amount or formula was not found in this deck.
SourceTVA Board presentation, Aug 20, 2026 meeting (read directly): https://tva-azr-eastus-cdn-ep-tvawcm-prd.azureedge.net/cdn-tvawcma/docs/default-source/about-tva/board-of-directors/august-20--2026/august-2026-board-presentation.pdf

Duke Energy Carolinas and Duke Energy Progress (North Carolina), proposed Large Load Tariff settlement

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdProposed: 50 MW or more of contract demand with an expected 80% load factor, or 150 MW or more at any load factor (premises within one mile counted together)
StatusPENDING, NOT APPROVED. NCUC Dockets E-7 Sub 1329 and E-2 Sub 1380: a settlement was filed Oct 6, 2026 (signed by Public Staff and large customers including Amazon, Google and Microsoft; environmental groups say it falls short). If approved, the tariff would apply from Jan 1, 2027 to agreements signed on or after June 1, 2026. Proposed terms: minimum initial term 10 years (5 years plus ramp) under 100 MW and 15 years (10 years plus ramp) at 100 MW or more; automatic one-year extensions with 24 months' notice; served under Schedule HLF; billing demand never below 75% of contract demand; notice to cut demand or leave of 24 months (under 250 MW), 36 months (250 to 499 MW) or 48 months (500 MW or more), with minimum bills still due during notice; early-termination damages of 100% of minimum bills for the notice period, plus the present value of remaining facility charges, plus 25% of remaining minimum bills; one free 20% reduction (up to 200 MW) after year 6; security equal to those damages; a letter of credit for transmission upgrades; the customer advances the cost of dedicated facilities; each contract must include interruptibility of either 95% of load for up to 50 hours a year or 50% for up to 100 hours a year, during the ramp plus one year, or another approved option. This row is for the NC tariff; South Carolina has a separate generic docket (2026-138-E) not yet read.
Contract term10 years; 15 years at 100 MW and above
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)75% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or end24 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceAgreement and Stipulation of Settlement on Large Load Tariff, filed Oct 6, 2026 (SELC-hosted copy, read in full); Axios and WUNC coverage of Oct 7, 2026. Commission order not yet issued.

Interconnection & regulatory guidance

North Carolina — statewide repeal of the data-center electricity tax exemption (SB 257)

Contact guidanceNo dedicated North Carolina utility large-load tariff is on file here yet (Duke Energy serves most of the state; TVA serves a small western sliver -- see the TVA multi-state entry for that specific territory). Contact the serving utility directly for interconnection process.
ThresholdNot an interconnection/MW threshold -- this is a sales-tax-base change applying to any qualifying or eligible internet data center buying electricity in North Carolina.
ProcessGov. Stein signed SB 257 (the Current Operations Appropriations Act of 2026) on July 7, 2026, repealing the state sales-and-use tax exemption specifically for electricity purchased by qualifying data centers and eligible internet data centers. HB 56 added a 30-day grace period, so the repeal applies starting the first billing period on or after Aug 6, 2026 (varies by the customer's own billing cycle). Electricity is now taxed at the standard 7.0% state sales tax rate regardless of locality. Exemptions for data-center EQUIPMENT and support infrastructure purchases are unaffected -- only the electricity-consumption exemption was repealed.
SourceNC Dept. of Revenue Important Notice: Repeal of Exemptions for Electricity Used at Datacenters, ncdor.gov (official agency notice); taxnews.ey.com for the effective-date/grace-period detail.

Land-constraint screening

Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, North Carolina included — no state-by-state gaps here.

FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage

Evaluating a specific parcel in North Carolina?

Start a Qualification Review