Coverage / Arizona

Arizona (AZ) data center power coverage

Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Arizona — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.

Large-load tariffs

Salt River Project (SRP)

Approved Checked 2026-10-17
Threshold20 MW or more, or expected by SRP to reach 20 MW within five years (E-67 price plan, "Large Load Account")
StatusSRP E-67 price plan (Standard Price Plan for Large Load Substation Large General Service), effective the November 2025 billing cycle, read in full from SRP's ratebook. SRP is self-governed, so this is a Board-approved price plan, not an Arizona Corporation Commission tariff. It is required for any New Large Load Account: an account with a load of 20 MW or more, or that SRP reasonably expects, from the customer's forecasts, to reach 20 MW within five years of first taking service, that first takes service on or after November 1, 2025. Each such account has a minimum billing demand of 80% of the customer's forecasted demand. SRP will reduce it to the extent the customer pays for load-serving resources and infrastructure, and may reduce it in its sole discretion for economic development (expected job creation). The customer signs SRP's then-current Agreement for Electric Service, which has a minimum term and specifies the minimum billing demand, the maximum load SRP is obliged to serve and the forecasting requirements; the number of years, any deposit or collateral and any exit charge are NOT stated in the price plan. If the customer asks SRP to procure or develop resources faster than SRP otherwise would, SRP requires written agreement to reimburse those costs.
Contract termA minimum term is set in the Agreement for Electric Service; the number of years is not stated in the price plan
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Minimum billing demand of 80% of the customer's forecasted demand for a New Large Load Account (service starting on or after November 1, 2025), reduced if the customer pays for load-serving resources and infrastructure, or at SRP's discretion for economic development
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceSRP E-67 price plan ratebook, effective November 2025 billing cycle (srpnet.com, read in full 2026-10-17); mgrid.org, "Arizona's Attorney General Wants a Data Center Pause, While SRP Puts Them at 5.1% of Peak" (Sept 2026).

Arizona Public Service (APS), Extra High Load Factor (XHLF) rate

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdExisting XHLF: optional at 5,000 kW or more maximum demand and a 92% or higher load factor for at least nine of the prior 12 months. Proposed: mandatory for data centers that began service after January 2024 and similar large customers needing new generation outside APS's June 2025 resource plan.
StatusPENDING CHANGES. APS's 2025 rate case (ACC Docket E-01345A-25-0105) proposes, per APS direct testimony (read): (1) data centers taking service after January 2024, and other similar large customers that need new generation not in APS's June 2025 resource plan, must take service on XHLF; (2) XHLF rates are updated to assign directly the cost of new generation built for load growth (about $1.57/kW of added production demand cost); (3) the market-price index option is replaced by a generation price based on the cost of the new resources, set in each customer's Electric Supply Agreement. APS also proposes changes to the minimum bill requirements. Reported: hearings ended in July 2026 and a Commission decision is expected by the end of 2026; no settlement was found. The ACC held a large-load workshop on April 16, 2026 (Docket E-00000A-25-0069).
SourceAPS direct testimony of Jessica Hobbick in the 2025 rate case (APS investor site, read in part; the XHLF schedule attachments were not read); news coverage for hearing and decision timing; ACC news (azcc.gov).

Interconnection & regulatory guidance

Arizona — statewide tax-incentive freeze (FY2027 budget)

Contact guidanceNo dedicated Arizona utility large-load tariff is on file here yet -- contact the serving utility (APS, TEP, SRP, etc.) directly for interconnection process. Separately, as of 2026-10-08, a statewide tax-incentive freeze is in effect (below) -- confirm current status before assuming Computer Data Center certification is available for a new project.
ThresholdNot an interconnection/MW threshold -- this is a tax-certification freeze. Applies to any new Computer Data Center (CDC) certification application with the Arizona Commerce Authority.
ProcessGov. Hobbs signed a 3-year pause (part of the FY2027 state budget) on new CDC certification applications, retroactive from June 30, 2026 through June 30, 2029 -- any new application needed to be completed and submitted by June 30, 2026 to be considered under the prior law. Projects already certified/qualified before the freeze keep their existing incentives; only new applications are frozen. Stated purpose: redirect the ~$57M in forgone tax relief to state social services, while the state develops new data-center policy addressing groundwater use and utility strain.
SourceGov. Hobbs FY2027 budget signing (news coverage: news.bloombergtax.com, newsweek.com, coppercourier.com, sales.tax; Governor's office primary text not directly located during this research). Separate, local-level Arizona leads (Pima County 120-day permit pause, Tucson community pushback, Hualapai Tribe opposition) are in County-Watch-List.md, not here.

Land-constraint screening

Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Arizona included — no state-by-state gaps here.

FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage

Evaluating a specific parcel in Arizona?

Start a Qualification Review