West Virginia (WV) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for West Virginia — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Appalachian Power and Wheeling Power (West Virginia), Schedules LCP and IP large load terms
Threshold100 MW or more of new load or expansion at an individual site, or 150 MW or more aggregated
StatusAPPROVED. West Virginia PSC Commission Order of March 25, 2025 (Case 24-0611-E-T-PW) accepted a Joint Stipulation and ordered revised Schedules LCP and IP. Does not apply to existing customers' contracted capacity as of Jan 1, 2025. Initial contract term of at least 12 years, and the customer may designate a load ramp of up to 5 years, after which the initial term starts. Monthly billing demand is the greater of 80% of contract capacity for that period or 80% of the highest billing demand in the past 11 months, with a minimum monthly charge. Collateral follows the companies' proposal (24 times the customer's monthly bill under the original proposal; the companies may negotiate a different amount). After 5 years the customer may cut contract capacity up to 20% in total with no exit fee on 42 months' written notice (before the start of a PJM delivery year); a larger cut or termination also needs 42 months' notice and an exit fee. The exit fee is reduced if capacity is reassigned. Collateral details come from the order's summary of the stipulation; the compliance tariff sheets were not read.
Contract term12 years after the ramp
RampUp to 5 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or end42 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceWV PSC Commission Order, Case No. 24-0611-E-T-PW, March 25, 2025 (read in part: background, stipulation terms, ordering paragraphs); tariff sheets not read.
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
West Virginia — High Impact Data Center Program (HB 2014) + PSC-approved Appalachian Power/Google terms
Contact guidanceNo single statewide MW threshold or tariff applies uniformly -- West Virginia's approach runs through a dedicated program plus case-by-case PSC-approved agreements. The real terms from the Appalachian Power/Google precedent (below) are the best concrete reference point until a given utility's own filing is checked directly.
ThresholdThe PSC-approved Appalachian Power/Google/manufacturers settlement sets a minimum contract capacity of 100 MW at an individual site, with initial contract terms of at least 12 years and a commitment to purchase at least 80% of expected power consumption -- real negotiated terms, not a generic statutory threshold other applicants are guaranteed.
ProcessHB 2014 (enacted 2025) established both the High Impact Data Center Program and the Microgrid Development Program, the latter expanding microgrid options specifically to power data centers -- it also contains provisions affecting Mon Power's and Appalachian Power's coal-plant operations (raising their required coal stockpile and minimum operating capacity), which both utilities say will raise costs by eight figures or more.
Deposit / costThe Appalachian Power/Google precedent's 80%-minimum-take and 12-year minimum term function as the real cost-protection mechanism in that specific deal.
SourceWest Virginia Public Broadcasting (wvpublic.org) coverage of HB 2014 and the PSC settlement; WV Gazette-Mail (wvgazettemail.com) for the 'trailing other states' framing. Primary PSC case filings not independently read during this research.
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, West Virginia included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage
Evaluating a specific parcel in West Virginia?
Start a Qualification Review