Coverage / Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania (PA) data center power coverage

Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Pennsylvania — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.

Large-load tariffs

Pennsylvania PUC large-load model framework (guidance for EDC filings)

Law or process only Checked 2026-05-12
ThresholdAt or over 50 MW individually, or 100 MW in the aggregate (model framework)
StatusFinal Order adopted April 30, 2026 and entered May 12, 2026, establishing a model tariff for Pennsylvania electric distribution companies. It is a template for EDC tariff filings, not an effective utility tariff, and the order does not say any EDC has filed. EDCs may apply it below 50 MW individually or 100 MW aggregate on a case-by-case basis. Docket M-2025-3054271.
Sourcehttps://www.puc.pa.gov/pcdocs/1929842.pdf (PUC Final Order, read directly)

PPL Electric Utilities (Pennsylvania), Rate Schedule LP-6 large load / data center

Approved Checked 2026-10-14
Threshold50 MW or more at a single facility, or 75 MW or more in aggregate at 69 kV or above within a 10-mile radius
StatusPA PUC approved the rate settlement in Docket R-2025-3057164 on June 4, 2026; compliance tariff for service on and after July 1, 2026. Applies to customers whose service began on or after Oct 1, 2025. Every LP-6 customer signs an Electric Service Agreement (ESA) and takes transmission-level service (69 kV or above). Initial term at least 10 years, with a load ramp of up to 5 years. Pay the greater of actual peak demand or 80% of the ramp schedule until the customer has paid transmission revenue equal to its Rate Base Security Obligation; after that, 80% for years 1-5 and 50% for years 6-10. A voluntary interruptible option cuts those minimums to 60% and 30%. Security (letter of credit, parent guarantee or similar) equals the cost of upgrades needed to serve the customer. Exit fee is the larger of the remaining minimum-load obligation or the remaining Rate Base Security Obligation. Up-front construction payments (CIAC) for directly assigned upgrades. A single facility of 50 to 75 MW with no transmission network upgrades may petition to stay on Rate LP-5. These terms come from the settlement terms quoted in the Commission's recommended decision; the final compliance tariff sheet was not read.
Contract term10 years after the ramp
RampUp to 5 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not; 50% after year 5
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeRemaining minimum bills for the rest of the term
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourcePA PUC recommended decision in R-2025-3057164 (puc.pa.gov/pcdocs/1923934.pdf, terms read); PA PUC press release of June 4, 2026. The state-wide model framework is a separate row.

Interconnection & regulatory guidance

Pennsylvania — statewide GRID Requirements (Executive Order 2026-05)

Contact guidanceBefore any PA-specific utility contact: as of 2026-10-08, Gov. Shapiro's Executive Order 2026-05 (Aug 18, 2026) makes signing a Consent Order and Agreement with the Dept. of Environmental Protection (DEP) the deciding factor in how fast permits move for any data center over 25 MW -- this is a state permitting gate layered on top of whichever utility serves the site, not a utility-specific process.
ThresholdApplies to any data center project with peak demand over 25 MW, for permit/authorization applications submitted after Aug 18, 2026 (read directly from the EO PDF, pa.gov). Note this is a materially lower threshold than PJM's own 50 MW 'Large Load' definition (see the Virginia/Indiana entries) -- a 25-49 MW PA project is NOT a PJM Large Load but IS subject to this state-level gate.
ProcessTwo tracks, read directly from the EO text: (1) COMPLY -- execute DEP's template Consent Order and Agreement committing to the Governor's GRID Requirements (Energy Affordability; Transparency & Community Engagement; Workforce & Economic Development; Environmental Protection) -> DEP reviews and issues permits on a rolling basis. (2) DO NOT COMPLY -> DEP will not even BEGIN reviewing any permit until the applicant already has (a) full local zoning/comprehensive-plan approval for every municipality/county the project touches, AND (b) any required water-withdrawal/wastewater-discharge authorization already in hand; even then, DEP will not issue permits on a rolling basis -- it waits until every application tied to the project has been received and reviewed. Non-complying projects are also excluded from the PAyback expedited-permitting program, the Permit Decision Guarantee Program, and the PA Permit Fast Track Program entirely.
Deposit / costThe Dept. of Revenue must update the Computer Data Center Equipment Exemption Program Guidelines (sales/use tax exemption) so that applicants on or after the EO's effective date must also comply with the GRID Requirements to qualify -- the existing data-center sales-tax exemption is now conditioned on the same Consent Order compliance as permitting.
SourceExecutive Order 2026-05, pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/oa/documents/policies/eo/2026-05.pdf (read directly via local PDF text extraction after WebFetch's own text layer failed on the encoded PDF).

Land-constraint screening

Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Pennsylvania included — no state-by-state gaps here.

FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage

Evaluating a specific parcel in Pennsylvania?

Start a Qualification Review