Missouri (MO) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Missouri — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Evergy Metro / Evergy Missouri West (Large Load Power Service, LLPS)
Threshold75 MW or more of expected demand
StatusMissouri PSC Report and Order (Case No. EO-2025-0154, Nov 13 2025), approving the Agreement's LLPS terms. Minimum service term of 12 years, plus an optional transitional load ramp of up to 5 years. The term starts when permanent service begins. Minimum demand of 80% of contract capacity. Collateral of two years of minimum monthly bills, with discounts for qualifying guarantors. Path to Power (Missouri West tariff, Rules section 2.10, effective Mar 9 2026): projects over 25 MW submit a refundable $200,000 planning deposit, plus another $200,000 if planning costs exceed it. Up to four projects are studied at a time. Deposit waiver only for community-interest projects (competitive search, 250+ jobs, economic development certification).
Contract term12 years after the ramp
RampUp to 5 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
Collateral24 months of minimum bills
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceMissouri PSC Report and Order, Case No. EO-2025-0154 (Nov 13 2025): https://efis.psc.mo.gov/Document/Display/857331; Evergy Missouri West P.S.C. MO. No. 1 (Rules 2.10; Schedule LLPS): https://psc.mo.gov/CMSInternetData/Community%20Outreach/Evergy%20Large%20Load%20Tariff.pdf
Union Electric Company d/b/a Ameren Missouri (Large Load Rate Plan)
ThresholdMonthly maximum demand of 75 MW or more for a new facility, or an expansion of 75 MW or more
StatusMissouri PSC order approving the Large Load Rate Plan (File No. ET-2025-0184, Nov 24 2025; effective Dec 4 2025). Large load customers must take service for a minimum term of 12 years, plus a transitional load ramp period of up to 5 years. Service terms auto-extend in 5-year periods. Collateral of two years of minimum monthly bills, with discounts for qualifying guarantors. Exit requires 24 months' written notice plus an exit fee. The order does not set an application fee or study deposit for Ameren; the $200,000 Path to Power deposit is in Evergy's tariff, not Ameren's.
Contract term12 years after the ramp
RampUp to 5 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
Collateral24 months of minimum bills
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or end24 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceMissouri PSC order, File No. ET-2025-0184 (Nov 24 2025): https://efis.psc.mo.gov/Document/Display/858399
Liberty (Empire District Electric), Missouri large load tariff case
Threshold25 MW or more of new or expanded load (Schedule TS-LL, as filed); Liberty may aggregate nearby premises
StatusPENDING. Missouri PSC Case ET-2026-0184: Liberty filed Schedule TS-LL on September 11, 2026 (direct testimony read). Applies to new or expanded load of 25 MW or more, so an existing 20 MW customer adding 6 MW is not covered. A binding electric service agreement is required. Fixed term of at least 15 years plus an optional load ramp of up to 5 years, then automatic 5-year extensions. Contract capacity can only be cut with Liberty's approval, and exceeding it for more than 4 months in 12 forces an amendment. The bill has four parts: access and transmission demand charges, existing-generation charges, incremental facility charges for new resources, and other charges. For comparison, Ameren Missouri and Evergy's approved tariffs use 12 years plus a 5-year ramp and collateral of two years of minimum bills. This resolves the earlier conflict about Liberty's threshold: it is 25 MW in the filing.
Contract termFixed term of at least 15 years, then automatic 5-year extensions (Schedule TS-LL as filed)
RampOptional load ramp of up to 5 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceLiberty direct testimony of Charlotte Emery with the Schedule TS-LL term summary, ET-2026-0184 (efis.psc.mo.gov, read); Missouri PSC large-load fact sheet, April 2026 (read).
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
Missouri — statewide large-load cost framework (SB 4, enacted 2025)
Contact guidanceNo dedicated tariff is on file for the specific utility serving this site yet (Ameren Missouri and Evergy Missouri West both have their own detailed entries if either serves the site) -- this entry covers the real statewide legal framework every Missouri electric utility operates under, including Liberty Utilities, whose own large-load tariff case was still in progress as of this research.
ThresholdSB 4's 12-17-year minimum contract term and 80% minimum-take requirement apply specifically to customers requesting 75 MW or more.
ProcessSB 4 (2025, signed by Gov. Kehoe) requires the Missouri Public Service Commission to adopt rates for large-load customers, including data centers, that reflect those customers' real cost of service, and bars other customer classes from being charged unjust or unreasonable costs tied to serving them. Under this law, both Ameren Missouri and Evergy (Missouri West and Metro) have already had large-load tariffs approved by the PSC; Liberty Utilities' own case was still pending as of this research.
Deposit / costApproved tariffs under this law include a minimum-demand-charge structure (80% of agreed rate even if actual usage is lower) and cost-stabilization recovery mechanisms for the utility.
SourceMissouri PSC's own Large Load Tariff Fact Sheet (psc.mo.gov); St. Louis Public Radio, KCUR, and KBIA coverage of SB 4 and its implementation. Primary statute text not independently re-read during this research.
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Missouri included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage
Evaluating a specific parcel in Missouri?
Start a Qualification Review