Coverage / Florida

Florida (FL) data center power coverage

Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Florida — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.

Large-load tariffs

Florida Power & Light (LLCS-1 Large-Load Contract Service)

Approved Checked 2026-01-01
ThresholdNew or incremental load of 50 MW or more at a single location, with a projected load factor of 85% or more
StatusAvailable only in designated zones near Sunbreak (St. Lucie), Tesoro (Martin), and Sugar (Palm Beach). Total class load capped at 3 GW. Minimum term of 20 years from in-service, including load ramp. Minimum bill of at least 70% of load-ramp demand. Customer pays system studies and CIAC before the service agreement. STATUTORY BACKGROUND: Gov. DeSantis signed SB 484 (effective July 1, 2026; local-authority provisions effective immediately on signing) requiring every Florida public electric utility, not just FPL, to file a large-load tariff with the PSC by October 1, 2026 ensuring large-load customers pay their full cost of service, with no cost-shifting onto residential/small-business customers. SB 484 also expressly preserves local government zoning/land-use/permitting authority over large-load siting (localities can set stricter standards or deny projects outright), and bars water management districts/DEP from issuing a consumptive-use water permit to a large-scale data center under certain conditions. The Oct 1, 2026 filing deadline just passed as of this research (2026-10-08). Tampa Electric (TECO) filed its own compliant tariff that day (news coverage only -- exact MW threshold/term not independently confirmed from the PSC docket itself). Duke Energy Florida ALSO filed Oct 1, but its filing is disputed: the Office of Public Counsel says DEF's proposal does not comply with SB 484's basic requirements because it omits an actual rate schedule -- Duke says it will file specific rates at a later rate proceeding instead. DEF's proposed non-rate terms (20-year minimum term, financial assurances, early-termination obligations, monthly minimum bills, 2 years' termination notice) are known, but a DEF site currently has no confirmed large-load RATE, unlike FPL/TECO -- flag this explicitly for any Duke-territory Florida site.
Contract term20 years (includes the ramp)
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)70% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceFPL tariff Section 8, LLCS-1 sheets 8.950 (effective Jan 1 2026): https://www.fpl.com/rates/pdf/electric-tariff-section8.pdf; SB 484 (2026), flgov.com/eog/news/press/2026/governor-ron-desantis-signs-law-protect-floridians-subsidizing-data-centers (primary signing announcement); Duke Energy Florida and Tampa Electric Oct 1 2026 PSC filings (news coverage: chronicleonline.com, baynews9.com/spectrumlocalnews.com; PSC docket text not independently read).

Duke Energy Florida, proposed Large Load Customer Policy (Florida PSC)

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
Threshold50 MW or more of firm load (Peak Contract Demand reasonably expected at or above 50,000 kW at any time in the term)
StatusPENDING, CONTESTED. Docket 20260064-EI: Duke's April 22, 2026 petition (read in full) asks for a Large Load Customer Policy (LLCP) and Large Load Customer Agreement (LLCA). Minimum term 20 years from permanent service, which may include a load ramp period. Minimum demand of 75% to 85% of annual contract capacity, plus a minimum energy volume at a load factor of no less than 60%; billing demand is the highest of the month's demand, 90% of the prior 12-month peak, or the minimum demand. Two years' written notice to terminate. Early termination before full ramp costs Duke's incurred costs; afterwards it is three years of minimum bills plus the net book value of the customer-funded facilities. Security (letter of credit from an A-/A3-rated bank, cash, or parent guaranty) of at least 10% of the termination amount, higher for weaker credit. Customers pay CIAC up front, refundable over five years. No new rate is set: service is under the existing GSD-1 or GSDT-1 rate until the next rate case. The Public Counsel and others argue the filing does not comply with the 2026 statute; a hearing is expected.
Contract term20 years (includes the ramp)
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit fee3 years of minimum bills
Notice to reduce or end24 months
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceDuke Energy Florida petition and proposed tariff sheets, Docket 20260064-EI, filed April 22, 2026 (floridapsc.com, read); contest from reporting on the docket, not read.

Tampa Electric, proposed Large Load Customer Service (LLCS-1 and LLCS-2)

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
Threshold50 MW or more anticipated monthly peak load at a single location
StatusPENDING, NOT APPROVED. Docket 20260146-EI: Tampa Electric's petition of September 30, 2026 (read) proposes two schedules plus a Large Load Customer Contract (LLCC). LLCS-1 covers the first gigawatt of large-load demand and LLCS-2 covers demand above it. Both: initial term of not less than 20 years from the in-service date, including a load ramp period of up to 5 years; the customer pays a demand charge, incremental generation, transmission and fuel transport charges (and an incremental PPA charge if one is used) on contracted capacity; three years' advance notice to end service, otherwise termination charges set in the LLCC; security (cash, letter of credit, investment-grade guaranty or insurance product) set in the LLCC. FPL's separate approved schedules are in its own row. Approval is expected late 2026 or early 2027.
Contract termInitial term of not less than 20 years from the in-service date, including a ramp (as proposed)
RampUp to 5 years, inside the term (as proposed)
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralSecurity (cash, letter of credit, investment-grade guaranty or insurance product) set in the Large Load Customer Contract (as proposed)
Exit feeTermination charges set in the Large Load Customer Contract; the amount is not stated (as proposed)
Notice to reduce or endThree years' advance notice to end service (as proposed)
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceTampa Electric petition and tariff sheets, Docket 20260146-EI, filed September 30, 2026 (floridapsc.com, read); timing from local news (baynews9.com, Oct 1, 2026).

Interconnection & regulatory guidance

Utility-specific — no statewide guidance resolves without naming a utility, but real tariff research exists above for Florida Power & Light (LLCS-1 Large-Load Contract Service) and Duke Energy Florida, proposed Large Load Customer Policy (Florida PSC) and Tampa Electric, proposed Large Load Customer Service (LLCS-1 and LLCS-2). Interconnection process for a specific utility can be confirmed directly once that utility is identified for your site.

Land-constraint screening

Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Florida included — no state-by-state gaps here.

FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage

Evaluating a specific parcel in Florida?

Start a Qualification Review