Connecticut (CT) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Connecticut — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Eversource / United Illuminating (Connecticut, under HB 5469)
Threshold50 MW or more peak demand
StatusHB 5469 requires both Connecticut EDCs to create a large electric load customer tariff for interconnections after October 1, 2026, with financial guarantees covering at least 85% of requested service for a minimum of 10 years. PURA must open an implementation proceeding by January 1, 2027 -- the statewide mandate is enacted, but neither utility's own specific tariff filing was confirmed as filed during this research.
Contract termNot stated in the filings we read
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralFinancial guarantees covering at least 85% of requested service for a minimum of 10 years (HB 5469; neither utility's own tariff was confirmed filed)
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceConnecticut General Assembly fiscal note (cga.ct.gov, 2026HB-05469); Hartford Business Journal (hartfordbusiness.com).
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
Connecticut — statewide large electric load customer framework (HB 5469)
Contact guidanceApplies identically to both Connecticut EDCs (Eversource and United Illuminating) -- no need to check utility-specific tariffs separately for the threshold/requirements below, though each EDC's own implementing tariff filing should still be confirmed once PURA's proceeding opens.
ThresholdA 'large electric load customer' is any customer with peak demand of at least 50 MW, for interconnections to the distribution or transmission system after October 1, 2026.
ProcessHB 5469 requires covered customers to post financial guarantees covering at least 85% of requested electric service for a minimum of 10 years, demonstrate their project isn't duplicative of other large-load projects already in the queue, and post deposits sufficient to protect ratepayers if the project scales back or shuts down. PURA must open an implementation proceeding (covering co-located supplier licenses and large-load tariffs) by January 1, 2027.
Deposit / costDeposit/guarantee requirements are explicit and substantial in the statute itself (85% of requested service, 10-year minimum) -- not left to case-by-case utility discretion.
SourceConnecticut General Assembly fiscal note (cga.ct.gov, 2026HB-05469); Hartford Business Journal (hartfordbusiness.com) and Public Power Association (publicpower.org) coverage. Bill text itself not independently re-read in final signed form during this research.
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Connecticut included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage
Evaluating a specific parcel in Connecticut?
Start a Qualification Review