Coverage / Oregon

Oregon (OR) data center power coverage

Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Oregon — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.

Large-load tariffs

Portland General Electric (Schedule 96; large load agreements under Rule I)

Approved Checked 2026-05-07
Threshold20 MW or more for a large load customer agreement (LLCA); Schedule 96 applies to large energy use facilities of 20 MW or more
StatusOregon PUC Order No. 26-154 (entered May 7 2026) adopts Schedule 96 with modifications and lowers the LLCA threshold to 20 MW. Minimum contract term of 10 years at 20 MW, plus one year per 10 MW increment, up to 30 years at 220 MW or more. A 1-cent per kWh surcharge applies to Schedule 96 customers with 100 MW or more of allocated system capacity. SEPARATELY, not a PGE/PUC rate matter: Gov. Kotek ordered an immediate pause (Sept 8 2026, through July 1 2027) on state agencies approving new leases, easements, land-use permits, or sales/transfers of STATE-OWNED land for data center projects -- narrower than a full permitting moratorium, since Oregon's governor reportedly lacks authority to halt private-land data center development outright. An advisory committee (formed Jan 2026) is due to deliver policy recommendations by end of 2026 for the 2027 legislative session.
Contract termMinimum 10 years at 20 MW, plus one year per 10 MW increment, up to 30 years at 220 MW or more (Order 26-154)
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)Not stated in the filings we read
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceOregon PUC Order No. 26-154, Docket UM 2377 (May 7 2026): https://apps.puc.state.or.us/orders/2026ords/26-154.pdf; Gov. Kotek state-land pause, announced Sept 8 2026 (news coverage: kptv.com, datacenterdynamics.com, wweek.com; Governor's office primary text not directly located during this research).

Pacific Power / PacifiCorp (Oregon), Schedule 401 and POWER Act data center implementation

Pending Checked 2026-10-14
Threshold20 MW or more, data center-type facilities (NAICS 518210), under Oregon's POWER Act
StatusPENDING. PacifiCorp filed Advice 25-015 (Schedule 401, Docket UE 463). PacifiCorp, PUC staff, the Citizen Utility Board and intervenors filed a settlement on September 16, 2026 that handles new data centers through individual service contracts rather than a class tariff; a PUC order was expected in fall 2026. The settlement covers data centers that contract after June 16, 2025, or earlier ones that cause more than $10 million of cumulative upfront-unpaid infrastructure cost, and directly assigns the cost of service to the data center. The POWER Act requires contracts of 10 years or longer. Existing data centers are to be handled in a separate docket after UE 470. Settlement terms beyond this summary were not read. Oregon PUC docket UE 463 (index read October 2026): the tariff sheets are suspended (Order 25-516, Dec 2025) with a proposed effective date of Jan 1, 2027; the stipulation was executed Sept 9, 2026 by PUC Staff, environmental intervenors, PacifiCorp and the Citizen Utility Board; the Data Center Coalition filed a notice of opposition to it on Oct 1, 2026, and other parties (ADS, NewSun Energy) filed comments; a petition to intervene was granted Oct 7. The case is still a contested case with no final order.
SourceOregon PUC eDockets index for UE 463 (apps.puc.state.or.us, read Oct 2026: dates and filing titles only); Oregon PUC 2026 POWER Act legislative report (oregon.gov) and Lewis & Clark Law School comparison of the PGE and PacifiCorp approaches (law.lclark.edu), both read; the stipulation text and any order were not read.

Interconnection & regulatory guidance

Utility-specific — no statewide guidance resolves without naming a utility, but real tariff research exists above for Portland General Electric (Schedule 96; large load agreements under Rule I) and Pacific Power / PacifiCorp (Oregon), Schedule 401 and POWER Act data center implementation. Interconnection process for a specific utility can be confirmed directly once that utility is identified for your site.

Land-constraint screening

Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Oregon included — no state-by-state gaps here.

FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage

Evaluating a specific parcel in Oregon?

Start a Qualification Review