New Mexico (NM) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for New Mexico — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Approved Checked 2026-10-03
Threshold10 MW at 69 kV or below, or 50 MW above 69 kV (SPP High Impact Large Load)
StatusLoads over those thresholds follow SPP's High Impact Large Load process, targeting a 90-day study window. Smaller loads go through SPS directly.
SourceSPP High Impact Large Load (HILL) integration materials; FERC order approving the process
Pending Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdProposed: Rate 50 at 30 MW or more minimum monthly billing demand with a high load factor requirement; Rate 51 at 10 MW or more
StatusPROPOSED, NOT CONFIRMED AS APPROVED. NMPRC Docket 25-00082-UT (rate case). El Paso Electric describes two paths: Rate 50, transmission-voltage service from a customer-dedicated substation for high load factor customers, and Rate 51 for large loads that do not meet Rate 50. Both allow a load ramp of up to 4 years set in the Energy Service Agreement, with a 20-year minimum initial term for new large-load customers. The utility also describes a $1 million a year, 20-year regional economic fund commitment. Order status was not found. In Texas, EEI lists a separate El Paso Electric filing for Schedule 27 (High Load Factor Large Power Service, 75 MW and 85% load factor, Docket 59611); that was not read.
Contract term20 years after the ramp
RampUp to 4 years
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)80% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not
CollateralNot stated in the filings we read
Exit feeNot stated in the filings we read
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceEl Paso Electric presentation to the New Mexico Economic and Rural Development Committee, Sept 2026 (nmlegis.gov, read in full); EEI list, Sept 2026 (docket numbers).
Approved Checked 2026-10-14
ThresholdLoad additions above 45 MW, either at the request or forecast within 4 years
StatusFERC-APPROVED (Aug 14, 2026, per Tri-State), subject to a compliance filing. FERC Docket ER26-1929 (revised tariff filed March 26, 2026; an earlier version was rejected in ER25-3316). Applies to member cooperatives' large loads: a security payment, a minimum term, minimum monthly demand and energy charges, and rules for bringing your own resources. The Data Center Coalition objected on FERC jurisdiction. The specific percentages and years were not read. If a site is in a Tri-State member cooperative's territory, the HILT governs the wholesale side and the member sets retail terms.
SourceTri-State news release on the FERC approval; Utility Dive and APPA coverage (search summaries). FERC order not read.
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
Utility-specific — no statewide guidance resolves without naming a utility, but real tariff research exists above for Southwestern Public Service (Xcel, SPP) and El Paso Electric (New Mexico), proposed Rate 50 High Load Factor Power Service and Rate 51 Large Load Power Service and Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association (Colorado, wholesale to cooperatives), High Impact Load Tariff. Interconnection process for a specific utility can be confirmed directly once that utility is identified for your site.
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, New Mexico included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land