Colorado (CO) data center power coverage
Real, sourced large-load tariff and interconnection research on file for Colorado — never inferred, never scraped, never implied beyond what's actually been checked.
Large-load tariffs
Xcel Energy / Public Service Co. of Colorado
Threshold50 MW and above
StatusLarge-load tariff filed (Advice Letter No. 2018-Electric). Requires demonstrated site control and signed interconnection and energy service agreements before data center load counts toward served load. $120,000 deposit, with total upfront cost commonly cited around $600,000 including study fees.
SourceColorado PUC filing, April 2, 2026; RTO Insider and Colorado Sun coverage
Black Hills Energy (Colorado)
ThresholdNo large-load tariff yet
StatusActively evaluating a large-load tariff for data centers. The Economic Development Rate does not currently apply to data center customers.
SourceBlack Hills Energy business development, written reply to GridPermit inquiry
Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association (Colorado, wholesale to cooperatives), High Impact Load Tariff
ThresholdLoad additions above 45 MW, either at the request or forecast within 4 years
StatusFERC-APPROVED (Aug 14, 2026, per Tri-State), subject to a compliance filing. FERC Docket ER26-1929 (revised tariff filed March 26, 2026; an earlier version was rejected in ER25-3316). Applies to member cooperatives' large loads: a security payment, a minimum term, minimum monthly demand and energy charges, and rules for bringing your own resources. The Data Center Coalition objected on FERC jurisdiction. The specific percentages and years were not read. If a site is in a Tri-State member cooperative's territory, the HILT governs the wholesale side and the member sets retail terms.
SourceTri-State news release on the FERC approval; Utility Dive and APPA coverage (search summaries). FERC order not read.
Colorado Springs Utilities (Colorado), Schedule ELL Industrial Service - Large Load
ThresholdIndustrial customers with loads greater than 10 MW
StatusADOPTED with the 2026 rate case (Colorado Springs is a municipal utility, not regulated by the Colorado PUC); rate sheet current as of October 1, 2026. Minimum 10-year initial contract. The customer owes 10 years of minimum monthly bills regardless of usage, where the minimum is the highest of actual demand and energy, 100% of contracted load, or 100% of the prior 12-month maximum demand (after year 10, 68% of prior 12-month maximum). Collateral of cash or a letter of credit equal to 36 months of estimated minimum bills. Contract renews for 36 months unless the customer gives notice. Customer pays transmission and distribution extension costs, and study fees apply. Interim service may come from market purchases passed through to the customer. Subject to SPP RTO tariff provisions, with SPP costs passed through. Utilities may use economic development special contracts.
Contract term10 years
RampNot stated in the filings we read
Take-or-pay (minimum bill)100% of contract capacity billed monthly whether used or not; 68% after year 10
Collateral36 months of minimum bills
Exit feeRemaining minimum bills for the rest of the term
Notice to reduce or endNot stated in the filings we read
Time to powerNot stated in the filings we read
SourceColorado Springs Utilities ELL Rate Schedule Summary (csu.org, read in full).
Interconnection & regulatory guidance
Colorado (non-Xcel utility)
Contact guidanceContact the serving utility/cooperative directly. Colorado Springs Utilities and Platte River Power Authority became full SPP members April 1, 2026 -- if the site is in one of their territories, SPP's large-load process (see the SPP Texas Panhandle entry's process shape) may apply. Xcel/PSCo did NOT join SPP as a full member, so Xcel-territory sites follow Xcel's own queue (see that entry), not SPP's.
ThresholdA small rural electric cooperative's own large-load threshold and process (if any) must be confirmed directly -- no statewide Colorado threshold applies outside Xcel's own tariff.
ProcessStart with a direct inquiry to the specific utility/cooperative's engineering or key-accounts contact.
SourceSPP member list update, April 2026 (Colorado Springs Utilities, Platte River Power Authority)
Land-constraint screening
Every Kill Test automatically screens against 6 nationwide land-constraint layers, Colorado included — no state-by-state gaps here.
FEMA Flood ZoneNearby WetlandsProtected / Conservation LandCritical HabitatSeismic HazardTribal Land
← Back to full coverage
Evaluating a specific parcel in Colorado?
Start a Qualification Review